Student Links‎ > ‎

LHS Media Center

Mission Statement

The Littleton High School Library Media Center in Littleton, New Hampshire serves approximately 320 students in grades nine through twelve. Our primary mission is to support the school's curriculum, assist members of the school community in becoming effective users of information, promote an enjoyment of literature, and provide a supportive and enjoyable environment in order to achieve these goals.   


Philosophy

The Littleton High School Library Media Center is dedicated to creating and maintaining an aesthetically pleasing learning environment that supports, complements, and expands the instructional program of the school. We believe it is important to provide students and staff with a wide variety of multi-media resources in order to meet the varying needs of the school community. An environment that encourages inquiry, stimulates intellectual curiosity, and promotes a love of reading must be provided if we are to prepare students to become lifelong learners.  
  

Language Arts Websites

Your Dictionary: http://www.yourdictionary.com/

The Writing Center: www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocAPA.html                      

A Guide to Writing Research Papers: http://Webster.commnet.edu/mla/index.shtml                                     

Plagiarism and the Web: http://www.wiu.edu/users/mfbhl/wiu/plagiarism.htm

How Not to Plagiarize: http://www.utoronto.ca/writing/plagsep.html

Citation Machine: http://citationmachine.net/

Biographical Dictionary: http://www.s9.com/

Writing Prompts: http://www.writersdigest.com/writingprompts.asp

Lives, the Biography Resource:  http://amillionlives.com/

The Write Source: http://www.thewritesource.com/

Science Websites

 Inventions:  http://invention.smithsonian.org/home/

SciCentral: http://www.scicentral.com/

Science News: http://www.sciencenews.org/

ABC News Science and Technology: http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/

History/Social Studies Websites

The History Place: http://www.historyplace.com/

History Matters: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/

National Geographic: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/


Research Links 

EBSCO URL: http://search.epnet.com/login.asp

NewsBank URL: http://infoweb.newsbank.com

World Book Encyclopedia: www.worldbookonline.com

You will need to check with your teacher or library media specialist for Username/Password information.

Comments